Flashflooder’s Top 25 Album’s of 2009

Wow, the year seems to have just flown by just like that. It seems like only yesterday I was compiling this same list for 2008 while eagerly awaiting the release of Merriweather Post Pavilion and wondering what the rest of 2009 would hold.

Well, MPP didn’t disappoint but overall it’s hard to say whether it’s been a “good” or “bad” year for music. Nevertheless, I can say that there have been plenty of quality albums released in the past year that are worth your ears time. So if you’re looking for some records you might have missed in ’09 or just want some new music to listen to, go and buy some of these albums! Or at least, find some way to get them playing through your headphones and/or stereo.

So without further adieu, here are my picks for the top 25 albums of the year. Apologies to any other great albums that should have made this list that I didn’t listen to (I know there are some of you out there!). And if you are curious to see what albums topped other critic’s list for 2009, head over to metacritic’s best music of 2009 section and check out their summary of various critic’s lists towards the bottom of the page. Anyways, here goes:

25. Black Dice – Repo [Paw Tracks]

24. Built to Spill – There Is No Enemy [Warner Bros.]

23. DOOM – Born Like This [Lex]

22. Yeah Yeah Yeahs – It’s Blitz! [Interscope]

21. DatA – Skywriter [Ekler’O’Shock/Naive]

20. The xx – xx [Young Turks]

19. Fuck Buttons – Tarot Sport [ATP]

18. St. Vincent – Actor [4AD]

17. The Mars Volta – Octahedron [Warner Bros.]

16. Phaseone – Thanks But No Thanks/White Collar Crime [Lefse]

15. Atlas Sound – Logos [Kranky]

14. Calvin Harris – Ready For The Weekend [Sony Music]

13. Girls – Album [True Panther/Matador]

12. Raekwon – Only Built For Cuban Linx…Pt. II [H20/EMI]

11. Vitalic – Flashmob [[PIAS] Recordings/Different]

10. Dan Deacon – Bromst [Carpark]

09. Tim Hecker – An Imaginary Country [Kranky]

08. Neon Indian – Psychic Chasms [Lefse]

07. Madlib – Beat Konducta Vol. 5 & 6 (Dil Cosby and Dil Withers Suite) [Stones Throw]

06. The Antlers – Hospice [French Kiss]

05. Grizzly Bear – Veckatimest [Warp]

04. Bibio – Ambivalence Avenue [Warp]

03. The Bloody Beetroots – Romborama [Dim Mak]

02. Phoenix – Wolfgang Amaedus Phoenix [Loyauté/Glassnote]

01. Animal Collective – Merriweather Post Pavilion/Fall Be Kind EP [Domino]

Upcoming: New DOOM EP and Madvillain LP

Our favorite multi-aliased, comic-based, masked, villainous MC known as DOOM (…remember all caps when you spell the man name) has prepared a new EP (see album art above) centered around the Gazillion Ear track off DOOM’s recent record Born Like This. The Gazillion Ear EP features remixes (headlined by Thom Yorke of Radiohead and David Sitek of TV on the Radio), instrumental tracks, an a capella, and a few non Gazillion Ear b-sides, all to be released on December 8 via Lex Records. Check out the tracklist and a stream of the Thom Yorke Gazilion Ear remix below.

In other news, DOOM has been busy at work with fellow blunted super producer Madlib on the sequel to their 2004 masterpiece Madvillain – Madvillainy. Although there is still no official title or release date to the new Madvillain LP, you can be sure that it will be released on Stones Throw Records (hopefully in early 2010). J Rocc (of the Stones Throw crew) recently played a few snippets of songs from the upcoming Madvillain album on the Fat Beats radio show (on Eastvillageradio.com) and as expected, they sound quite promising. Check out the a stream of JRocc’s Madvillain previews on the radio show below (via youtube). If you’re still wanting more, there was also a good article recently by the New Yorker on DOOM (with some details on the new Madvillain album), which can be partially read via Stones Throw.

Gazzillion Ear EP:

01 Gazzillion Ear
02 Gazzillion Ear (Thom Yorke Remix)
03 Gazzillion Ear (Dr WHo Dat? Remix)
04 Gazzillion Ear (Jneiro Jarel/SITEK Remix)
05 Gazzillion Ear (Acappella)
06 Gazzillion Ear (Instrumental)
07 Gazzillion Ear (Thom Yorke Remix) (Instrumental)
08 Gazzillion Ear (Dr WHo Dat? Remix) (Instrumental)
09 Gazzillion Ear (Jneiro Jarel/SITEK Remix) (Instrumental)
10 Green Whore Net (bonus beat)
11 Feta (scratch samples)
12 Kat Girl (bonus)