Flashflooder DJ Mix: Schizo

After looking at my Soundcloud account the other day and noticing the fact that I haven’t posted a mix up there since last year, I got inspired to impulsively just set up my dj equipment and record myself dj’ing (for the first time in a while) without any thought or pretense going into it just to see what would happen. After an hour and a half of messing around, what I am now calling my “schizo” mix came to life.

The process of the mix was really refreshing in that I just went back to playing whatever random song came into my head (like when I started out dj’ing) without paying much attention to maintaining dj staples such as a complimentary tempo, key, genre, style, sound that people expect or want to hear, or much of anything at all. If anything, at times I tried to purposely do the opposite by making continually large tempo shifts and drastic genre changes to challenge myself and take the sound in a strange direction. As a result, you know you’re probably going to make some mistakes and it’s not going to be as clean and seamless as if you planned out a playlist and practiced all the transitions, but that’s the point. The experience makes for a great improvisational practice tool; and not to mention, it’s a lot of fun.

For a while now I’ve been wanting to make a few different genre and/or sample based mixes (and still plan to) but recently I just haven’t had the time to make them happen due to being so busy (and a little bit of procrastination too). Ironically though, thinking about that got me motivated to just try this new schizo dj’ing concept out which may have ended up spawning a mix series. Hopefully there will be more to come in the future; but for now, try it out for yourself and see what happens. You might be surprised.

Leave a Reply

