Panda Bear Live at Primavera Sound

Recently Animal Collective’s Panda Bear (aka Noah Lennox) has been giving the public a little insight into his ridiculously anticipated upcoming album Tomboy (which we spoke about before here) with a number of live shows, the most recent of which coming at this year’s Primavera Sound festival in Barcelona, Spain.

Luckily for us, someone at the sound board was recording the show, resulting in the best quality live Tomboy audio to date. Ola’s Kool Kitchen of Radio 23 broke the podcast onto the internets and well, let’s just say it didn’t take very long for everyone else to catch word of it.

Panda Bear’s set consisted on nine new songs (see tracklist below) and all but one of them seem to now be known by their proper title. Aside from the currently untitled King Tubby sample song, at this point we only know of one other new potential Tomboy track called “The Preakness”. Some months back Noah posted a setlist for his mini European tour on his myspace blog page showing the title in his planned encore, but apparently only one of those three shows were even graced by an encore, and that show’s encore only featured Ponytail.

Alas, Panda fans have dug deep and now think that a song he played a few times live that was going by “A Day Ago” is the aforementioned “The Preakness”. The best live example of the song in question comes from the 01/17/10 show in De Kreun, Kortjik, and you can check out a bootleg of the show for yourself here and form your own opinion. Either way, I like this “A Day Ago” live track and if it doesn’t turn out to be “The Preakness” I’ll be that much more happy because it’ll just mean that there’s one more new Panda Bear track for me to hear in the future.

Anyways, for those who like long audio files in their entirety, you can download the podcast of the Primavera Sound show here; but, if you’re like me and want a version with individual tracks and titles (I blame you there is also a broken up version that you can download here:

Panda Bear – Live @ Primavera Sound 2010

  1. Drone
  2. Tomboy
  3. Untitled “King Tubby” Sample Song
  4. Surfer’s Hymn
  5. Ponytail
  6. Last Night At The Jetty
  7. Benfica
  8. Slow Motion
  9. Bullseye
  10. You Can Count On Me

There are also some pretty decent quality videos I found from the Primavera Sound show which I’ve posted below; however, (as Noah mentions) the visuals didn’t end up working for this show so if you’re trying to catch a sneak peak at the wild concoction of images he’s been known to throw behind himself while he plays…well, you’re going have to look elsewhere or catch him on one of his remaining tour dates (Fox Theater, I’m looking at you!).

Oh yeah, and Panda Bear just today released the first 7″ of the Tomboy series featuring the title track “Tomboy” and my current personal favorite “Slow Motion” which you can buy now at the Paw Tracks online store. And if you didn’t get the chance to hear the (low quality) vinyl rips of these songs before they got yanked off Soundcloud trust me, they’re out there to find and are pretty darn good as well (and if you don’t believe me, learn to click on a link buddy).

2 thoughts on “Panda Bear Live at Primavera Sound

  1. Just a quick note Radio 23 is licensed in Portland Oregon and is a global station. Cheers for mentioning me though! Ola

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s